ipl vs psl

PSL is the first Pakistan’s international league. The first edition of PSL was played in February 2016 while first edition of IPL was played in 2008. Due to the success in first edition of PSL, PCB is now going to organize the second edition of PSL in 2017. The PSL 2016 featured five teams and was held in United Arab Emirates. The prize money of PSL 2016 was 1 USD million. It was announced that each franchise will be able to draft players and coaches for the team within a budget of 1 million USD. IPL 2008 was far more expensive than PSL 2016. The most expensive player of IPL 2008 was Mahendra Singh Dhoni, brought by Chennai Super King for 1.5 million USD. This figure was greater than the total team budget of PSL 2016. The arguments about IPL vs PSL makes no sense.


Total five teams were part of PSL 2016 but IPL 2016 started with 8 teams.

PSL 2016 includes Islamabad United, Quetta Gladiators, Peshawar Zalmi, Lahore Qalandars and Karachi Kings.

IPL 2008 includes Royal Challenger Bangalore, Chennai Super Kings, Delhi Daredevils, Deccan Chargers, Mumbai Indians, Kings XI Punjab, Kolkata Knight Riders, Rajasthan Royals.

Icon Players

In PSL 2016 there were 5 Icon players, one for each team. The Icon players for PSL 2016 contain both Pakistani and foreign players to take attention of other nations as well. The icon players for PSL 2016 includes Chris Gayle (West Indies), Shahid Afridi (Pakistan), Shane Watson (Australia), Shoaib Malik (Pakistan), Kevin Pietersen (England).

While in IPL 2008 there were 5 Icon players signed for first two sessions of IPL 2008-2009. For IPL 2008-2009 Icon players are Virender Sehwag, Sourav Ganguly, Sachin Tendulkar, Rahul Dravid, and Yuvraj Singh.


Now look at the captains of both leagues for different teams. In PSL 2016, there were five clubs and the captain of all these clubs are Pakistanis. Sarfraz Ahmed for Quetta Gladiators, Misbah-ul-Haq for Islamabad United, Shahid Afridi for Peshawar Zalmi, Azhar Ali for Lahore Qalandars, Shoaib Malik for Karachi Kings. These all are officially announced captains for PSL 2016 but due to unexpected tragedies the franchises change their captains.

In IPL 2008, seven captains are of India and one of Australia. Rahul Dravid for Royal Challenger Bangalore, MS Dhoni for Chennai Super Kings, VVS Laxman for Deccan Chargers, Virender Sehwag for Delhi Daredevils, Yuvraj Singh for Kings XI Punjab, Sourav Ganguly for Kolkata Knight Riders, Sachin Tendulkar for Mumbai Indians, Shane Warne for Rajasthan Royals.

Foreign players

In PSL 2016, PCB decides to give the opportunity to the franchise to keep 5 foreign players into their best XI squad. While in IPL, each team have around 7-9 foreign cricketer and 4 of them can play on each match.

Pakistani players were part of IPL 1st edition but in other editions there are no Pakistani player involved in auctions. Although Pakistani players showed up their talent in IPL 2008 to make event successful. Pakistani fast bowler Sohail Tanveer won the purple cap (best bowler) in IPL 2008. Due to political issues the involvement of Pakistani players in IPL was banned. Similarly, when there is no involvement of Pakistani players in IPL the PCB decided to ignore the Indian players for PSL. Now form 2016, when PSL starts, the IPL vs PSL comparison gives us huge difference in both leagues. IPL vs PSL comparison of top players is given below.

IPL vs PSL                                                                                   IPL vs PSL

Surely, IPL is the bigger league in terms of finances and players involved. None the less, PSL is emerging as a competitive league and is already ahead of several other leagues played around the globe. Players have started to take interest in PSL as well. Therefore, PSL will definetely rise as a heavy weight league in near future.